WAS/WERE – PAST SIMPLE OF ‘BE’

Exercise 1

Choose was/were or am/is/are to complete the following sentences.

  1. My son was short to school, but now he is tall
  2. Were you ot the stadium ysterday? ”Yes, is
  3. Ysterdy Philip and Emma were in London. Today thec are in Paris.
  4. Sera and I were ot home that night and you were with us.
  5. Yestrday we were late for the concert, and today I am late for class.
  6. Asim was born in Egypt, and I am born is Birmingham.
  7. Were you excited about the trip?”yes, were very excited:
  8. Was kate angry yesterday ofter the meeting?”No, but I think She is angry now
  9. Was you at the beach last Sunday?”yes, I Were.
  10. The weather is nice today, but it was horrible last Weekend.

Exercise 2

2. Complete the following sentences with was/were or wasn’t/weren’t.
  1. Where was  you last night? I called you, but you wasn`t  at home.

2′ . Was Sandra happy after the exam?’ ‘No, she wasn`t.’

3. I remember I  was very worried, but you weren`t  calm.

4. Betty and Paul  were  at home; they were  at the cinema

5. ‘ Were you tired after the concert?’ ‘Yes, I was .’

6. I’m very sorry. You  were  right, and I was  wrong.

7. ‘Were your parents at the meeting?’ ‘My dad  was there, but my mum wasn`t .’

8. We were  late! We  weren`t early. The concert was at 8 and we arrived at 7.

9. Vivian  wasn`t at the meeting, but I  was there. I always go to the meetings.

10′. wasn`t Tim with you?’ ‘No, only Sally and Peter were  there with me.’

Exercise 3

Write questions using was/were and the words below. Put the words in the correct order.

EXAMPLE: you / what time / at the station ⇒ What time were you at the station?

  1. the keys / where ⇒ Where was the keys?

2. Robin / why / at the meeting ⇒ Robin was why at the meeting?

3. born / she / when ⇒ When was she born?

4. how expensive / the hotel ⇒ The hotel was how expensive?

5. why / you / angry ⇒  Why were you angri?

6. unconscious / I / after the accident ⇒ I was after the accident unconscious?

7. the questions / difficult ⇒ The questions were difficult?

8. the accident / what time ⇒ whar time was The accident?

9. you / how often / in contact with them ⇒  how often were you in contact with them?

10. where / you and Tom / last night ⇒ Where were you and Tom last night?

Թողնել պատասխան

Ձեր էլ-փոստի հասցեն չի հրատարակվելու։ Պարտադիր դաշտերը նշված են *-ով